BMW recalls the older Series 3 (E46) and Series 5 (E39) due to a faulty airbag inflator

English EN Español ES Français FR Italiano IT Polski PL Русский RU

BMW recalls the older vehicles of the Series 3 (E46 – pictured) and 5 (E39) which were not affected by the Takata recall in 2017 (recall code: “0032480200” – see here).

It is possible that a former steering wheel or airbag exchange was carried out on vehicles built from 7 April 1999 to 10 December 2003.

According to the German Federal Motor Transport Authority (KBA), there is a risk that due to a fault in the front airbag inflator, uncontrolled deployment and detachment of metal fragments may occur, which may injure occupants.

BMW assumes that only a small part of the affected vehicles will need to replace the driver’s airbag, a maximum of 20 percent, as said a company spokesperson to website.

According to KBA information, the recall includes 66 229 vehicles worldwide, of which 22 553 are registered in Germany.

The examination of the vehicles or a possible replacement of the airbag can take up to half an hour.

The recall under the internal code “0032930200” is active since the calendar week 41 of this year.


Update 20. 12. 2019 – Both recalls were published in the Rapex system:

Where now?

Share on:

Start a discussion. Share your view: Post a Comment on Twitter

Weekly Newsletter

Do you want to receive a weekly overview of new car recalls?

Deutsche version
Based on Weekly overview reports of RAPEX notifications, published free of charge in English on, © European Union, 2005 – 2021
The official contact points of the Member and EFTA-EEA States provide the information published in these weekly overviews. Under the terms of Annex II.10 to the General Product Safety Directive (2001/95/EC) responsibility for the information provided lies with the notifying party. The Commission nor the does not take any responsibility for the accuracy of the information provided.
The content owned by the EU on this website is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0) licence.